Skip to main content

As You Like It

Literary news, book reviews
and more…   rss-icon 

If you like Sherlock Holmes, give these titles a try

by Becky C | Mar 14, 2018
While Sir Arthur Conan Doyle may have tired of Sherlock Holmes, readers have not. Nearly 130 years after Holmes first appeared in A Study in Scarlet, there remains such an interest in this consulting detective that other authors have taken up the cause and offered their own contributions to his story.  Let's begin with some short story collections.



Sherlock Holmes in AmericaIn Sherlock Holmes in America, edited by Martin Greenberg, we are treated to 14 stories by a list of authors including Loren Estleman, Matthew Pearl, Bill Crider, and Jon Breen.  Each story is set in an American locale such as New York, St. Louis, San Antonio, and Salt Lake City.  Each is told in the writer's own voice but still captures the spirit of the Holmes stories.



The Perils of Sherlock HolmesThe Perils of Sherlock Holmes by Loren Estleman offers 11 stories and 3 essays for Holmes fans to savor.  Highlights include "The Adventure of the Three Ghosts" in which Holmes aids a man experiencing nightly visitations and "The Devil and Sherlock Holmes," in which an insane asylum inmate has convinced the medical staff that he is Satan himself.



And a couple of series . . .

The Beekeepers ApprenticeOne of the most popular book series today is Laurie King's Mary Russell series.  The first book in the series, The Beekeeper's Apprentice, introduces a retired Holmes to a 15-year-old girl whose brilliant intellect, caustic wit, egotistical personality, and gift for detail rival his own.  He mentors her in the art of detection and allows her to participate in cases.  A kidnapping case will test their friendship -- a master criminal is clearly pulling the strings and Holmes is the target -- as well as everyone he holds dear.  Excellent characterizations, delightfully atmospheric. 

The House of SilkThe House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz has the distinction of being the first Sherlock Holmes novel to be authorized by Arthur Conan Doyle's estate.  A year Holmes's death,  Watson (now in a retirement home) finally recounts the most scandalous case of Holmes' career, a case he hadn't written about at the time because it was "too monstrous, too shocking".  Back in 1890, a fine art dealer approached Holmes and Watson to ask for help.  A few days later, the dealer's home is robbed and his family is threatened.  And then, the first murder takes place.  As they investigate, Holmes and Watson find themselves drawn into an international conspiracy, a conspiracy Holmes fears will tear apart society.  A tight, compelling plot and finely drawn characters do justice to the Holmes canon.  Horowitz's Sherlock Holmes series currently has two additional titles to offer.

You may also want to check out these titles:  Lyndsay Faye's Dust and Shadows, Leonard Goldberg's The Daughter of Sherlock Holmes, Bonnie Macbird's Art in the Blood, and Larry Millett's Sherlock Holmes and the Eisendorf Enigma.

Have you read any of these books?  If so, what did you think?  Have you read other "new" books featuring Sherlock Holmes that you'd like to recommend?



Becky CBecky likes to read … A LOT. When she’s not reading, she likes to pretend that she can garden. Her favorite books are The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz and The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman..
  • Sherlock Holmes
  • Becky C
  • Book Recommendations
  • Readalikes
  • Readers Advisory
  • If You Like
  • Based on the Character
  • Characters We Love
  • As You Like It
  • ACPLadultblog