Notes
from the
Underground

Teen literary news, book reviews,and more…   rss-icon

If You Liked Harry Potter, You Will Love These Books! (part 1)

by Cindy H | Dec 09, 2016
Did you enjoy reading the Harry Potter series or watching the movies? Then check out these books!

The Golden Compass by Phillip Pullman
golden compass
Lyra Belacqua is content to run wild among the scholars of Jodan College, with her daemon familiar always by her side. But the arrival of her fearsome uncle, Lord Asriel, draws her to the heart of a terrible struggle-a struggle born of Gobblers and stolen children, witch clans and armored bears. And as she hurtles toward danger in the cold far North, Lyra never suspects the shocking truth: she alone is destined to win, or to lose, this more-than-mortal battle. (Book 1 in His Dark Materials series) There is also a movie version of this book!

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
lightning thief
After getting expelled from yet another school for yet another clash with mythological monsters only he can see, twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is taken to Camp Half-Blood, where he finally learns the truth about his unique abilities: He is a demigod, half human, half immortal. Even more stunning: His father is the Greek god Poseidon, ruler of the sea, making Percy one of the most powerful demigods alive. There's little time to process this news. All too soon, a cryptic prophecy from the Oracle sends Percy on his first quest, a mission to the Underworld to prevent a war among the gods of Olympus. (Book 1 in Percy Jackson series) There is also a movie version of this book!

How to Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell
howtotraindragon
Chronicles the adventures and misadventures of Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III as he tries to pass the important initiation test of his Viking clan, the Tribe of the Hairy Hooligans, by catching and training a dragon. (Book 1 in How to Train Your Dragon series) There is also an animated movie version of this book!

Magyk by Angie Sage
magyk
Septimus Heap, the seventh son of the seventh son, disappears the night he is born, pronounced dead by the midwife. That same night, the baby's father, Silas Heap, comes across an abandoned child in the snow—a newborn girl with violet eyes. Who is this mysterious baby girl, and what really happened to the Heaps' beloved son Septimus? (Book 1 in Septimus Heap series)

Inkheart by Cornelia Coraline Funke
inkheart
One cruel night, Meggie's father reads aloud from a book called INKHEART-- and an evil ruler escapes the boundaries of fiction and lands in their living room. Suddenly, Meggie is smack in the middle of the kind of adventure she has only read about in books. Meggie must learn to harness the magic that has conjured this nightmare. For only she can change the course of the story that has changed her life forever. (Book 1 in Inkworld series) There is also a movie version of this book!

Winterling by Sarah Prineas
winterling
Deeply connected to the earth, Fer grows up learning about herbs and their healing properties from her grandmother. Grand-Jane has worked hard to protect her granddaughter, but her homey magic cannot keep Fer from accidentally opening the portal between the human and fairy worlds. Once opened, Fer tumbles into a dangerous world of alliances and treachery. With the help of a puck, whose own loyalty is deeply divided, she attempts to discover the truth about her parents’ fate and the identity of the Lady who rules the land. Out of her element, in a world with different rules than her own, Fer must rely on her wits, strong character, and knowledge of herbs to see through enchantments, discover the truth, and heal the land. (Book 1 in Winterling series)

Fablehaven by Brandon Mull
fablehaven
Unaware that their grandfather is the current caretaker of Fablehaven, Kendra and her brother, Seth, venture into this magical land filled with dangerous and plotting witches, imps, and fairies. (Book 1 in Fablehaven series)

Leave a comment