Notes
from the
Underground

Teen literary news, book reviews,and more…   rss-icon

Review of Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

by Cindy H | Nov 04, 2016

chemicalhearts
Henry hasn't ever really had a crush before. His first kiss was his best friend Lola, who happens to be a lesbian. His parents have a fairy tale love story, so he feels like whenever he does fall in love for the first time he has to make it count. When a mysterious new student, Grace, walks in to class for the first time he definitely does not think she will be the future love of his life; she is wearing all boys' clothes, it looks like she's never combed her hair, and it seems like personal hygiene is a skill she hasn't quite mastered yet. When they are both chosen to be editors of the school newspaper, however, there might just be a spark between them that cannot be ignored. What Henry doesn't know is that Grace has experiences from her past that she may never be able to overcome. Can Henry break down the walls Grace has around her to see who she really is? Will Grace ever be able to let go of her past so she can have a future with him?

Henry has a great group of friends and their witty banter is really entertaining, and I think many people will be able to relate to the feelings of angst that come with falling in love for the first time. Fans of Rainbow Rowell and John Green particularly will enjoy this book. If you are looking for a story about high school friendship, romance, and finding yourself this may be a good choice for you!

Leave a comment