Allen County Public Library
ACPL Logo
200 E. Berry Street Fort Wayne, IN Phone 260-421-1200  
Children's Services Home

Kids Links
ALA's Great Sites for Kids
Fun Links
Homework Help
Internet Safety
Tumblebooks
World Book Online
Grown-ups Links
Everybody Reads
Curriculum Resources
Homeschooling Links
Internet Safety
Custom Collection Form
Parenting
Everyone Links
About Children's Services
Children's Book Awards
Book Lists
Illustration Types
Fairy Tale Variants
Parents' Primer
Seasonal Lists
Children's Literature
Programs: Main Library
Programs: Branches
Volunteer

Harry Potter Read-Alikes: Fantasy Books for Children

Wizards, dragons, magic and other-worlds... If you liked the Harry Potter books, you might like other fantasy books for kids about magic and magical creatures. You may also want to check out our Dragons Booklist for more fantasy books and stories.

HUMOROUS FANTASY

Call numbers are for the Allen County Public Library, Fort Wayne, Indiana.
CALL # AUTHOR TITLE DATE
J BARRY Barry, Dave Peter and the Starcatchers
Soon after Peter, an orphan, sets sail from England on the ship Never Land, he befriends and assists Molly, a young Starcatcher, whose mission is to guard a trunk of magical stardust from a greedy pirate and the native inhabitants of a remote island.
2004
J BRITT Brittain, Bill The Wish Giver
When he arrives at Coven Tree's church social, Thaddeus Blinn, itinerant salesman, promises to deliver wishes for 50.
1983
J COWEL Cowell, Cressida How to Train Your Dragon (and other books about the adventures of Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III)
Chronicles the adventures and misadventures of Hiccup Horrendous Haddock the Third as he tries to pass the important initiation test of his Viking clan, the Tribe of the Hairy Hooligans, by catching and training a dragon.
2003
J DAHL Dahl, Roald The Witches
Grandmamma loves to tell about witches. Real witches are the most dangerous of all living creatures on earth. There's nothing they hate so much as children, and they work all kinds of terrifying spells to get rid of them. Her grandson listens closely to Grandmamma's stories -- but nothing can prepare him for the day he comes face to face with The Grand High Witch herself.
1983
J DAHL Dahl, Roald James and the Giant Peach
Wonderful adventures abound after James escapes from his fearful aunts by rolling away inside a giant peach.
1961
J EAGER Eager, Edward Half Magic
Faced with a dull summer in the city, Jane, Mark, Katharine, and Martha suddenly find themselves involved in a series of extraordinary adventures after Jane discovers an ordinary-looking coin that seems to grant wishes.
1954
J EAGER Eager, Edward Knight's Castle
Four cousins, Roger, Ann, Eliza, and Jack, have an extraordinary summer when, after an old toy soldier comes to life, they find themselves transported back to the days of Robin Hood and Ivanhoe.
1956
J FARME Farmer, Nancy The Sea of Trolls
After Jack becomes apprenticed to a Druid bard, he and his little sister Lucy are captured by Viking Berserkers and taken to the home of King Ivar the Boneless and his half-troll queen, leading Jack to undertake a vital quest to Jotunheim, home of the trolls.
2004
J IBBOT Ibbotson, Eva Island of the Aunts
As they get older, several sisters decide that they must kidnap children and bring them to their secluded island home to help with the work of caring for an assortment of unusual sea creatures.
2000
J IBBOT Ibbotson, Eva The Secret of Platform 13
Odge Gribble, a young hag, accompanies an old wizard, a gentle fey, and a giant ogre on their mission through a magical tunnel from their Island to London to rescue their King and Queen's son who had been stolen as an infant.
1994
J IBBOT Ibbotson, Eva Which Witch?
Deciding that he must sire a child to carry on his tradition of Loathing Light and Blighting the Beautiful, the Great Wizard Arriman announces a competition among the witches of Todcaster, one of whom will marry him.
1979
J JONES Jones, Diana Wynne Charmed Life
After two centuries of feuding the powers of the two families of magicians in mythical Caprona are too weak to stop an incipient war, but the younger members of the families find a way.
1997
J SNICK Snicket, Lemony A Series of Unfortunate Events, beginning with The Bad Beginning
After the sudden death of their parents, the three Baudelaire children must depend on each other and their wits when it turns out that the distant relative who is appointed their guardian is determined to use any means necessary to get their fortune.
1999
J WREDE Wrede, Patricia Enchanted Forest Chronicles, beginning with Dealing with Dragons
Bored with traditional palace life, a princess goes off to live with a group of dragons and soon becomes involved with fighting against some disreputable wizards who want to steal away the dragons' kingdom.
1990

OTHER FANTASY

CALL # AUTHOR TITLE DATE
J ALEXA Alexander, Lloyd Prydain Chronicles, beginning with The Book of Three
Taran, Assistant Pig-Keeper to a famous oracular sow, sets out on a hazardous mission to save Prydain from the forces of evil.
1999
J AVI Avi Midnight Magic
In Italy in 1491, Mangus the magician and his apprentice are summoned to the castle of Duke Claudio to determine if his daughter is indeed being haunted by a ghost.
1999
J BARRO Barron, T. A. Lost Years of Merlin Series, beginning with The Lost Years of Merlin
A young boy who has no identity nor memory of his past washes ashore on the coast of Wales and finds his true name after a series of fantastic adventures.
1996
J BODE Bode, N.E. The Anybodies
After learning that she is not the biological daughter of boring Mr. and Mrs. Drudger, Fern embarks on magical adventures with her real father and finally finds "a place that feels like home."
2004
J CARMA Carman, Patrick The Dark Hills Divide
When she finds the key to a secret passageway leading out of the walled city of Bridewell, twelve-year-old Alexa realizes her lifelong wish to explore the mysterious forests and mountains that lie beyond the wall.
2005
J COLFE Colfer, Eoin Artemis Fowl Series, beginning with Artemis Fowl
When a twelve-year-old evil genius tries to restore his family fortune by capturing a fairy and demanding a ransom in gold, the fairies fight back with magic, technology, and a particularly nasty troll.
2001
J COLLI Collins, Suzanne Gregor the Overlander
When eleven-year-old Gregor and his two-year-old sister are pulled into a strange underground world, they trigger an epic battle involving men, bats, rats, cockroaches, and spiders while on a quest foretold by ancient prophecy.
2004
J COOPE Cooper, Susan The Dark is Rising Series, beginning with Greenwitch
The Dark has stolen an object of great power--a golden grail that holds a vital secret. Will embarks on a new quest to reclaim the grail, and to drive back the Dark once again. But first he will need the help of three former grail seekers: Jane, Simon, and Barney Drew.
1974
J COVIL Coville, Bruce Jeremy Thatcher, Dragon Hatcher
Small for his age but artistically talented, twelve-year-old Jeremy Thatcher unknowingly buys a dragon's egg.
1991
J DICAM DiCamillo, Kate The Tale of Despereaux
The adventures of Desperaux Tilling, a small mouse of unusual talents, the princess that he loves, the servant girl who longs to be a princess, and a devious rat determined to bring them all to ruin.
2003
J DITER DiTerlizzi, Tony and Holly Black The Spiderwick Chronicles Series, beginning with The Field Guide
When the Grace children go to stay at their Great Aunt Lucinda's worn Victorian house, they discover a field guide to fairies and other creatures and begin to have some unusual experiences.
2003
J DIVAK Divakaruni, Chitra Banerjee The Conch Bearer
In India, a healer invites twelve-year-old Anand to join him on a quest to return a magical conch to its safe and rightful home, high in the Himalayan mountains.
2003
J DUPRA DuPrau, Jeanne City of Ember
In the year 241, twelve-year-old Lina trades jobs on Assignment Day to be a Messenger to run to new places in her decaying but beloved city, perhaps even to glimpse Unknown Regions.
2003
J FARME Farmer, Nancy The Ear, The Eye and the Arm
In 2194 in Zimbabwe, General Matsika's three children are kidnapped and put to work in a plastic mine while three mutant detectives use their special powers to search for them.
1994
J FLANA Flanagan, John The Ruins of Gorlan: Ranger's Apprentice #1
When fifteen-year-old Will is rejected by battleschool, he becomes the reluctant apprentice to the mysterious Ranger Halt, and winds up protecting the kingdom from danger.
2005
J FLETC Fletcher, Charlie Stoneheart
When twelve-year-old George accidentally decapitates a stone statue in London, England, he falls into a parallel dimension where he must battle ancient "live" statues and solve a dangerous riddle.
2007
J FUNKE Funke, Cornelia Dragon Rider
After learning that humans are headed toward his hidden home, Firedrake, a silver dragon, is joined by a brownie and an orphan boy in a quest to find the legendary valley known as the Rim of Heaven, encountering friendly and unfriendly creatures along the way, and struggling to evade the relentless pursuit of an old enemy.
2004
J GAIMA Gaiman, Neil The Graveyard Book
Nobody Owens is a normal boy, except that he has been raised by ghosts and other denizens of the graveyard.
2008
J HAPTI Haptie, Charlotte Otto and the Flying Twins
Young Otto comes to the rescue when he discovers that his family and city are the last remnants of an ancient magical world now under threat from the Normal Police.
2002
J HARDI Hardinge, Frances Fly by Night
A twelve-year-old orphan, Mosca Mye, and her homicidal goose, Saracen, travel to the city of Mandelion on the heels of smooth-talking con-man Eponymous Clent, driven by her love of language to find a better life.
2005
J JACQU Jacques, Brian Redwall Series, beginning with The Wall
When the peaceful life of ancient Redwall Abbey is shattered by the arrival of the evil rat Cluny and his villainous hordes, Matthias, a young mouse, determines to find the legendary sword of Martin the Warrior which, he is convinced, will help Redwall's inhabitants destroy the enemy.
1986
J JONES Jones, Diana Wynne The Lives of Christopher Chant
Young Christopher Chant, in training to become the next Chrestomanci or head controller of magic in the world, becomes a key figure in a battle with renegade sorcerers because he has nine lives.
1998
J KERR Kerr, Philip The Akhenaten Adventure
When twelve-year-old twins Philippa and John discover that they are descended from a long line of djinn, their mother sends them away to their Uncle Nimrod, who takes them to Cairo where he starts to teach them about their extraordinary powers.
2004
J KESSL Kessler, Liz The Tail of Emily Windsnap
After finally convincing her mother that she should take swimming lessons, twelve-year-old Emily discovers a terrible and wonderful secret about herself that opens up a whole new world.
2003
J LENGL L'Engle, Madeline A Wrinkle in Time
One stormy night a strange visitor comes to the Murry house and beckons Meg, her brother, Charles Wallace, and their friend Calvin O'Keefe on a most dangerous and fantastic journeya journey that will threaten their lives and our universe.
1962
J LEVINE Levine, Gail Carson Ella Enchanted
In this novel based on the story of Cinderella, Ella struggles against the childhood curse that forces her to obey any order given to her.
1997
J LEWIS Lewis, C.S. The Chronicles of Narnia, beginning with The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
Four English school children find their way through the back of a wardrobe into the magic land of Narnia and assist Aslan, the golden lion, to triumph over the White Witch, who has cursed the land with eternal winter.
1950
J MCGRA McGraw, Eloise The Moorchild
Feeling that she is neither fully human nor "Folk," a changeling learns her true identity and attempts to find the human child whose place she had been given.
1996
J MACLA MacLachlan, Patricia Tomorrow's Wizard
A wizard, his unorthodox apprentice, and a wise horse make five important wishes come true in ways that surprise the wishers.
1982
J MURPH Murphy, Shirley Caves of Fire and Ice
"An Argo book"
1980
J MURPH Murphy, Shirley Wolf Bell
With the help of the wolves and the slave Jerthon, Ramad must search out the Runestone for the future good of the entire planet of Ere.
1979
J NEFF Neff, Henry H. The Hound of Rowan
After glimpsing a hint of his destiny in a mysterious tapestry, twelve-year-old Max McDaniels becomes a student at Rowan Academy, where he trains in "mystics and combat" in preparation for war with an ancient enemy that has been kidnapping children like him.
2007
J NESBI Nesbit, Edith The Enchanted Castle
Four English children find a wonderful world of magic through an enchanted wishing ring.
1964
J NIMMO Nimmo, Jenny Children of the Red King Series, beginning with Midnight for Charlie Bone
Charlie Bone's life with his widowed mother and two grandmothers undergoes a dramatic change when he discovers that he can hear people in photographs talking.
2002
J PIERC Pierce, Tamora The Song of the Lioness Series, beginning with Alanna: The First Adventure
Eleven-year-old Alanna, who aspires to be a knight even though she is a girl, disguises herself as a boy to become a royal page, a learning many hard lessons along her path to high adventure.
1983
J PIERC Pierce, Tamora Protector of the Small Series, beginning with First Test
Ten-year-old Keladry of Mindalen, daughter of nobles, serves as a page but must prove herself to the males around her if she is ever to fulfill her dream of becoming a knight.
1999
J PULLM Pullman, Philip The Dark Materials Series, beginning with The Golden Compass
Accompanied by her daemon, Lyra Belacqua sets out to prevent her best friend and other kidnapped children from becoming the subject of gruesome experiments in the Far North.
1996
J RIORD Riordan, Rick The Lightning Thief
Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson learns he is a demigod, the son of a mortal woman and Poseidon, god of the sea. His mother sends him to a summer camp for demigods where he and his new friends set out on a quest to prevent a war between the gods.
2005
J VANDE Vande Velde, Wizard at Work: A Novel in Stories
A young wizard, who runs a school to teach wizards, looks forward to a quiet summer off but is drawn into adventures with princesses, unicorns, and ghosts instead.
2003
J WINTH Winthrop, Elizabeth The Castle in the Attic
William has just received the best present of his life. It's an old, real-looking stone and wooden model of a castle, with a drawbridge, moat, and a about the castle. And sure enough, when he picks up the tiny silver knight, it comes alive in his hand...
1985
J YOLEN Yolen, Jane Tartan Magic
Three children visiting relatives in Scotland become involved in the plans of a diabolical wizard.
1999
J YOLEN Yolen, Jane The Young Merlin Trilogy, beginning with Passager
A foundling rediscovers his identity through the help of the falconer who adopts him.
1996

NON-PRINT MATERIALS: PLAYAWAYS & BOOKS ON CD

CALL # AUTHOR TITLE DATE
PLAYAWAY J DICAM DiCamillo, Kate The Tale of Despereaux
The adventures of Desperaux Tilling, a small mouse of unusual talents, the princess that he loves, the servant girl who longs to be a princess, and a devious rat determined to bring them all to ruin.
2008
PLAYAWAY J DUPRA DuPrau, Jeanne City of Ember
In the year 241, twelve-year-old Lina trades jobs on Assignment Day to be a Messenger to run to new places in her decaying but beloved city, perhaps even to glimpse Unknown Regions.
2008
PLAYAWAY J FLETC Fletcher, Charlie Stoneheart
When twelve-year-old George accidentally decapitates a stone statue in London, England, he falls into a parallel dimension where he must battle ancient "live" statues and solve a dangerous riddle.
2007

If you need help finding these or other Library materials, please check with anyone in Children's Services. We look forward to seeing you at the Library!




This list was created and is maintained by Children's Services Librarians.
Comments and suggestions can be sent to Mary R. Voors, Manager, Children's Services at mvoors@acpl.info.

Copyright© 2002 Allen County Public Library
About Us ACPL Locations Hours Services Programs Library Jobs Library Volunteers Frequently Asked Questions Contact Us ACPL Home