Allen County Public Library
200 E. Berry Street Fort Wayne, IN Phone 260-421-1200  
Children's Services Home

Kids Links
ALA's Great Sites for Kids
Fun Links
Homework Help
Internet Safety
World Book Online
Grown-ups Links
Everybody Reads
Curriculum Resources
Internet Safety
Custom Collection Form
Everyone Links
About Children's Services
Children's Book Awards
Mock Caldecott
Mock Geisel
Mock Newbery
Mock Sibert
Book Lists
Children's Literature
Programs: Main Library
Programs: Branches

Randolph Caldecott Medal Winners

The Caldecott Medal, named after nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott, is awarded every year by the American Library Association to the illustrator of the most distinguished American picture book for children. Here you will find a list of the winning titles from 1938 to the present.

2013 This Is Not My Hat Jon Klassen Jon Klassen JE KLASS
2012 A Ball for Daisy Chris Raschka Chris Raschka JE RASCH
2011 A Sick Day for Amos McGee Philip C. Stead Erin E. Stead JE STEAD
2010 The Lion and the Mouse Jerry Pinkney Jerry Pinkney JE PINKN
2009 The House in the Night Susan Marie Swanson Beth Krommes JE SWANS
2008 The Invention of Hugo Cabret: A Novel in Words and Pictures Brian Selznick Brian Selznick J SELZN
2007 Flotsam David Wiesner David Wiesner JE
2006 The Hello, Goodbye Window Norton Juster Chris Raschka JE JUSTE
2005 Kitten's First Full Moon Kevin Henkes Kevin Henkes JE
2004 The Man Who Walked Between the Towers Mordicai Gerstein Mordicai Gerstein JE
2003 My Friend Rabbit Eric Rohmann Eric Rohmann JE
2002 The Three Pigs David Wiesner David Wiesner J398.24
2001 So You Want to Be President? Judith St. George David Small J973.099
2000 Joseph Had a Little Overcoat Simms Taback Simms Taback JE
1999 Snowflake Bentley Jacqueline Briggs Martin Mary Azarian J551.5784
1998 Rapunzel Paul O. Zelinsky Paul O. Zelinsky J398.2
1997 Golem David Wisniewski David Wisniewski J398.2
1996 Officer Buckle and Gloria Peggy Rathmann Peggy Rathmann JE
1995 Smoky Night Eve Bunting David Diaz JE
1994 Grandfather's Journey Allen Say Allen Say JE
1993 Mirette on the High Wire Emily Arnold McCully Emily Arnold McCully JE
1992 Tuesday David Wiesner David Wiesner JE
1991 Black and White David Macaulay David Macaulay J
1990 Lon Po Po: A Red-Riding Hood Story from China Ed Young Ed Young J398.2
1989 Song and Dance Man Karen Ackerman Stephen Gammell JE
1988 Owl Moon Jane Yolen John Schoenherr JE
1987 Hey, Al Arthur Yorinks Richard Egielski JE
1986 The Polar Express Chris Van Allsburg Chris Van Allsburg JE
1985 Saint George and the Dragon Margaret Hodges Trina Schart Hyman J398.2
1984 The Glorious Flight: Across the Channel with Louis Bleriot Alice & Martin Provensen Alice & Martin Provensen J629.13
1983 Shadow Blaise Cendrars Marcia Brown J841
1982 Jumanji Chris Van Allsburg Chris Van Allsburg J
1981 Fables Arnold Lobel Arnold Lobel J
1980 Ox-Cart Man Donald Hall Barbara Cooney J
1979 The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses Paul Goble Paul Goble JE
1978 Noah's Ark Peter Spier Peter Spier J222.1
1977 Ashanti to Zulu: African Traditions Margaret Musgrove Leo & Diane Dillon J916
1976 Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears Verna Aardema Leo & Diane Dillon J398.2
1975 Arrow to the Sun Gerald McDermott Gerald McDermott J398.2
1974 Duffy and the Devil Harve Zemach Margot Zemach J398.2
1973 The Funny Little Woman Arlene Mosel Blair Lent J398.2
1972 One Fine Day Nonny Hogrogian Nonny Hogrogian J
1971 A Story - A Story Gail E. Haley Gail E. Haley J398.2
1970 Sylvester and the Magic Pebble William Steig William Steig JE
1969 The Fool of the World and the Flying Ship Arthur Ransome Uri Shulevitz J398.2
1968 Drummer Hoff Barbara Emberley Ed Emberley JE
1967 Sam, Bangs & Moonshine Evaline Ness Evaline Ness JE
1966 Always Room for One More Sorche Nic Leodhas Nonny Hogrogian J784.4941
1965 May I Bring a Friend? Beatrice Schenk de Regniers Beni Montresor JE
1964 Where the Wild Things Are Maurice Sendak Maurice Sendak JE
1963 The Snowy Day Ezra Jack Keats Ezra Jack Keats JE
1962 Once a Mouse Marcia Brown Marcia Brown J891.4
1961 Baboushka and the Three Kings Ruth Robbins Nicolas Sidjakov J398.2
1960 Nine Days to Christmas Marie Hall Ets & Aurora Labastida Marie Hall Ets JE
1959 Chanticleer and the Fox Adopted from Chaucer by Barbara Cooney Barbara Cooney JE
1958 Time of Wonder Robert McCloskey Robert McCloskey J
1957 A Tree Is Nice Janice May Udry Marc Simont JE
1956 Frog Went A-Courtin' John Langstaff Feodor Rojankovsky JE
1955 Cinderella, or the Little Glass Slipper Charles Perrault Marcia Brown J398.21
1954 Madeline's Rescue Ludwig Bemelmans Ludwig Bemelmans JE
1953 The Biggest Bear Lynd Ward Lynd Ward JE
1952 Finders Keepers Will and Nicolas Will and Nicolas JE
1951 The Egg Tree Katherine Milhous Katherine Milhous JE
1950 Song of the Swallows Leo Politi Leo Politi JE
1949 The Big Snow Berta & Elmer Hader Berta & Elmer Hader JE
1948 White Snow, Bright Snow Alvin Tresselt Roger Duvoisin JE
1947 The Little Island Golden MacDonald Leonard Weisgard JE
1946 The Rooster Crows Maude & Miska Petersham Maude & Miska Petersham JE
1945 Prayer for a Child Rachel Field Elizabeth Orton Jones J248
1944 Many Moons James Thurber Louis Slobodkin J
1943 The Little House Virginia Lee Burton Virginia Lee Burton JE
1942 Make Way for Ducklings Robert McCloskey Robert McCloskey JE
1941 They Were Strong and Good Robert Lawson Robert Lawson J920
1940 Abraham Lincoln Ingri & Edgar Parin d'Aulaire Ingri & Edgar Parin d'Aulaire JB L638AU
1939 Mei Li Thomas Handforth Thomas Handforth JE
1938 Animals of the Bible Helen Dean Fish Dorothy P. Lathrop J220.859

NOTE: All call numbers are for the Allen County Public Library, Fort Wayne, Indiana.

Comments and suggestions can be sent to Mary R. Voors, Manager, Children's Services at
Copyright© 2002 Allen County Public Library
About Us ACPL Locations Hours Services Programs Library Jobs Library Volunteers Frequently Asked Questions Contact Us ACPL Home